GYPSY


“Stop playing with your food you thwart”

My ears ring as she speaks

A wishful thought fills my mind

If only I could block out everything she says

My head would be a better place.

 

Why should I eat bread as stale as this?

One that looks like it was made without yeast.

Why should I drink a cloudy tea?

One that looks like it lacks rich milk.

 

My life as an orphan goes without saying

It’s a paradise for the hopeless but it’s not mine.

I seek more from life than I’ve been given

But I fear I will not be able to fit in.

Image result for Looking like an outcast

A larger world presents itself out there

Waiting for me to build up my courage.

I am but a mere sixteen year old,

In two years’ time, I will be able to walk out.

Out there lies my freedom

Out there is where my life shall begin.

 

But I fear

O how I fear!

If I will be able to fit in.

A girl who only knows the alphabet

A girl who has lost both parents.

One who has slaved her life away

One with no trust in man again.

Image result for Gypsy

How shall I fit in?

In a world I do not know

A place where only men grow

A land where women hide in men’s shadows.

 

Is that the world I will meet?

One that will refuse to accommodate me?

In two years’ time I shall know

If earth is a place I will lay my head

If she will embrace my loneliness.

 

In two years’ time I will be reborn

As a girl no one knows.

My past has already been written

But my future is still unknown.

Image result for Stale bread

I poke my bread with a sigh

As I lift the thing towards my mouth

In two years’ time I will know

If bread will still taste like dust everywhere I go.

Leave a Reply

